top of page
Search
  • Jason Le Roy

Your first visit - what to expect.


What to expect on your first visit.

To enter the building at most times the front door is locked. You have to ring my doorbell situated at the right of the door so I can unlock the door for you from my room. Once in, come up the stairs and take a seat and I will be out to greet you ASAP. Osteopathy is a safe hands on evidence based treatment approach that can be useful for all ages with different problems that may be affecting mobility, work, sporting activities etc. It is not just for spinal related problems as I treat all areas of the body from head to toe!

Treatment is different depending upon the age of the person, the problem(s) they have even with underlying conditions.

Within your first treatment I will take a case history - this involves myself listening to the problem(s) that you have come to see me about, I will commonly ask what the problem(s) is, how long you have had the problem for, what the pain feel like, any aggravating and/or relieving factors etc. I will then ask questions about your past medical history, medications and your general health. After the consultation I will need to assess you to arrive at a diagnosis, this will involve doing specific tests (Orthopaedic/neurological/movement Tests). To do these tests, specifically the movement tests I will I will ask you to undress to your underwear, this allows me to see how your body moves and along with the tests & palpation allows me to arrive at a diagnosis (please wear appropriate underwear). After the assessment I will explain what my diagnosis is and tell you what my treatment plan is before treatment start. Commonly after treatment I will give exercises for you do to in-between treatments - these are important to do as they help maintain the benefits from the treatment before the next appointment.


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Story - how I became interested in Osteopathy

I left school when I was 16 whilst I was living in the UK in a small village called Bardsea near Ulverston in Cumbria. I left in June 1985 with not very good results in my CSE's (equivalent to year 10

bottom of page